2015 IHSAA Sportsmanship-Character Poster

Seth Tuttle Featured on IHSAA Sportsmanship-Character Poster

Seth Tuttle, a West Fork, Sheffield prep athlete and basketball star at the University of Northern Iowa, is the featured individual on the 2015-16 IHSAA Sportsmanship-Citizenship posters.

This year’s poster is the 24th produced by the IHSAA since starting of the program in 1995 when Ames High and Iowa State University graduate Fred Hoiberg was featured. The Association annually chooses a former prep athlete, male or female, to be featured on the poster. The selected individual is not only a remarkable athlete but is renowned for their citizenship and sportsmanship which have been the core values of the IHSAA since its creation in 1905.

Tuttle’s poster will be available for viewing on the IHSAA website this week. It will also be mailed to the IHSAA member schools for display in high school, middle school, and elementary buildings with the goal of encouraging young students to maximize their abilities and opportunities in educational-based activities.

Tuttle was a 2011 graduate and honor student at West Fork High School he won 12 varsity letters and was a three time all-state basketball selection. He led the school to a 92-4 mark including a 27-0 State Championship run his senior year. He established new school records in scoring, rebounding, assists and blocked shots. That same season he was a top quarterback throwing for 2,400 yards in guiding his team to the playoffs and finished as a three-time state qualifier and two-time place winner in the high jump.

He takes pride in where he went to high school remarking, “I had a great opportunity to work with excellent, caring teachers and coaches during my time at West Fork High School. It is a small school which allowed me the chance to play multiple sports, and build great relationships with my coaches and teachers.”

When it came time to select a college to continue his education he had offers from many Division I schools. He chose the University of Northern Iowa and continued to excel in basketball and the classroom, graduating in four years with a major in sports psychology, while ringing down numerous team and personal honors on the hardwood.

His career was filled with academic success and remarkable achievements on the basketball court. He steadily improved each year and became UNI’s first player to earn NCAA Division I All-America honors and was the Missouri Valley Conference’s Larry Bird Player of the Year. He was also one of 30 finalist for the Naismith College Player of the Year in 2015 when he led the Panthers to a national ranking, the Missouri Valley Conference regular season and tournament titles, and to the third round of the NCAA National Tournament. His 1,747 career points was fourth best in school history. He finished in the top six in school history in career categories – free throws made (508) and attempted (676); field goal percentage (57.6%); and blocked shots (95). He was chosen as MVC Player of the Week seven times, the most in UNI history, as he tallied 21 career game double-doubles.

Tuttle is currently playing professionally in Germany.

Previous Iowa athletes who have been featured on IHSAA posters follow.

2014 – Doug McDermott, Ames
2013 – Aaron Wernimont, Pocahontas Area
2012 – Harrison Branes, Ames
2011 – Casey Blake, Indianola
2010 – Dallas Clark, Twin River Valley, Bode
2009 – LoLo Jones, Des Moines Roosevelt
2008 – Zach Johnson, Cedar Rapids Regis
2007 – Adam Haluska, Carroll
2006 – Jeff Clement, Marshalltown
2005 – Chad Hennings, Benton Community
2004 – Coach Ed Thomas, Aplington-Parkersburg
2003 – Nick Collision, Iowa Falls; Kyle Korver, Pella; Kirk Henrich, Sioux City West
2003 – Bruce Nelson, Emmetsburg
2002 – Nick Ackerman, Colfax-Mingo
2001 – Eric Juergens, Maquoketa
2000 – Kurt Warner, Cedar Rapids Regis
1999 – General John Lorber, Orange City
1999 – Tim Dwight, Iowa City, City
1998 – Ryan Bowen, Fort Madison
1998 – Tavian Banks, Bettendorf; Tim Dwight, Iowa City, City; Matt Sherman, Saint Ansgar
1997 – Adam Timmerman, Cherokee
1996 – Casey Wiegmann, Aplington-Parkersburg
1995 – Fred Hoiberg, Ames

Comments are closed.