Archives for

Two IHSAA Employees to be Honored by the NFHS

 Two employees of the Iowa High School Athletic Association are among the 2013 Citation Award winners of the National Federation of High School Associations (NFHS). IHSAA Director of Officials Roger Barr and Information Director Bernard (Bud) Legg will be honored at the 94th NFHS Summer Meeting Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 25. The luncheon is […] Continue reading →

2012-13 IHSAA Sportsmanship-Character Poster

 Harrison Barnes Featured on IHSAA Sportsmanship-Character Poster Iowa’s latest edition to the National Basketball Association, Harrison Barnes of Ames, is the featured individual on the 2012-13 IHSAA Sportsmanship-Citizenship posters, which were mailed to the member schools in September. This year’s poster is the 20th produced by the IHSAA since the start of the program in […] Continue reading →

FB: Winning streaks

 Source: LONGEST CURRENT WINNING STREAKS – GOING INTO 2011 LONGEST WINNING STREAKS Strk-Team Last Loss 23 – Armstrong-Ringsted (8P) 30-28 to North Sentral Kossuth, Sept. 25, 2009 14 – Dowling Catholic, WDM (4A) 28-25 to Marshalltown, Nov. 13, 2009 14 – Regina, Iowa City (2A) 42-7 to Solon, Nov. 6, 2009 14 – North […] Continue reading →

2010 IFCA Hall of Fame Honors release: IOWA FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION HALL OF FAME HONORS DAVE JACOBSON – Mr. Jacobson devoted 27 coaching years to football. Thirteen of those years were as an assistant coach at Iowa City, City High (11) and Lake Forest College in Illinois. He coached three different high schools into the playoffs in 14 years, authoring […] Continue reading →

2010 football hall of fame release: At the halftime of the Class 4A State Football Championship Friday night the annual awards presentations will be held. Six former high school players will be inducted into the IHSAA Hall of Fame. Those being honored are Paul Laaveg, Belmond; the late Mike Courey, Bishop Heelan, Sioux City; Dennis Gibson, Ankeny; Todd Twachtmann, […] Continue reading →